Eggplant casserole

27 Jan

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted a recipe. I really haven’t felt like cooking much. But I decided to tell you how I fixed the eggplant I bought yesterday on my store tour.

First I cut each eggplant in half and cut a crosshatch on the cut side. I made the cuts about 2 inches apart. I set the four halves on a baking rack set over a cookie sheet. Liberally salted them, then turned them cut side down and let them sit for at least a half an hour. I probably let them sit for over an hour by the time I got back to them.

When I was ready to cook, I put almost a half pound of chicken sausage, I wasn’t going to make the guy at the butcher counter dig out some more, in a pan with a tablespoon each of canola oil and butter. As I was looking at the amount of eggplant and the little amount of meat, I grabbed some ground turkey out of the freezer and threw that in the pot too. I added a half cup of water so the sausage wouldn’t burn while the turkey defrosted and browned. I KNOW there are some of you who do that when you forgot to take something out of the freezer and its dinnertime and the children are climbing the walls saying they’re starving.

While the meat was browning, I finished my dishes so I would have a clean sink. I know there are those of you that need to do that too! Then I gently(you don’t want mashed eggplant) squeezed the eggplant and rinsed the salt off. Then I cut the halves in 4-5 large chunks and placed in a 9×11 cake pan that I sprayed with cooking spray. Yes, I know I could have said Pam and most would know what I’m talking about, but I could only afford generic this time.

When the meat was cooked through, I added a can of cream of chicken soup and a half a can of water. Poured it over the eggplant, then sprinkled about a cup of shredded cheese out of the bag over everything. Put it in a 350 oven for 30 minutes. Then let it sit on the counter for 20 more minutes so I didn’t need to eat hot lava. I put it into my food diary app as serving 6, but you can divide it up however you feel is best.

It was really yummy! My tummy is even happy with it. The eggplant wasn’t bitter because I salted it first and I cut the chunks big enough to not turn to mush while it cooked. But I still couldn’t get my picky child to try it. Guess I’m eating it all week. Hopefully it microwaves well.

  • I’m grateful to get to church today. I needed some serenity in my life. I’m grateful to experiment in the kitchen. It always soothes the voices fighting in my head. I’m grateful this experiment turned out so well. Maybe I’ll get the neighbors to try it?

Night all. LOVES

Leave a comment