Turkey burgers

4 Dec

I decided to expand my diet by using some things that I am already tolerating well. They actually turned out really good. I’ll let you know about any adverse long term effects, if any.

In a large bowl, mix 12 oz of ground turkey, one ounce of pork rinds, ground to a powder, 1 cup of seasoned bread crumbs that were hiding in the cupboard, and a large egg. Add some black pepper, garlic powder and a tablespoon of ranch seasoning powder. I didn’t measure the pepper or garlic powder or add salt because the pork rinds and seasoning already are pretty salty. Mix everything together well. Divide into 8. Form into patties and place on an oiled, foil lined cookie sheet. Makes clean up easier. Bake at 350 of 10 minutes. Flip patties and bake an additional 5 minutes or until internal temperature reads 165.

When I was first entering the ingredients into myfitnesspal to record my numbers for my food diary, I figured on 2 patties per serving. But 2 is too many unless that is all I’m going to eat. I ate just one a little later in the day and it was just right with a piece of cheese and a small pickle. I was worried a bit about the bread crumbs because I really haven’t had any bread/wheat products since surgery, but it seems to be staying in.

  • I’m grateful they turned out so well. I’m grateful to have several meals in the fridge for a future date. I might even decide to freeze a couple to see how well they store. I’m grateful that I was able to wash all my dishes while the patties were in the oven. Woohoo.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a comment