Craving meatloaf

28 Jun

So what do you do when you’re craving meatloaf during the hottest week of the year? You improvise. And use an electric skillet. And  I used what was in the cupboard because it’s the last week of the month.

I used a pound each of hamburger and pork sausage, 2 tablespoons of chopped garlic (from a jar), about a tablespoon or two of dehydrated onions (the child will eat THEM, but not regular onions! Go figure!), a big squeeze of sriracha, salt, pepper, and garlic powder (Don’t measure them, I just sprinkled until it looked like enough). Add a  couple of handfuls of oatmeal, a couple of squeezes of ketchup, an egg, and a splash of milk to make it all hold together. Mix it all together and pat it into an electric skillet drizzled with oil, in a big circle, not touching the sides, and about 2 inches thick. Cover and set at 300. Cook for about 40 minutes, carefully turn over, mine broke into pieces, and cook on the other side for 20 minutes or until done. I don’t have a thermometer, so I just was looking for no more pink in the middle.

I served it with instant potatoes and gravy (child’s favorite),and canned corn (again the child’s favorite).

Bonus recipe ~ take 3 bananas, a package of vanilla pudding, a tablespoon of vanilla, some hot cocoa mix (don’t have chocolate pudding mix or cocoa powder), and the milk the pudding asks for. Place in a blender for about a minute and pour into serving bowls. Place in fridge until ready to serve.

  • Today I’m grateful to Google for giving me ideas for making meatloaf in my electric skillet successfully. I’m grateful that my child actually tasted the meatloaf tonight. Didn’t eat it, but he tasted it. I’ll take that as a win. I’m grateful that I was able to make a yummy dinner without heating up the entire house.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

