My Best Friend

24 Jun

My best friend moved today. She was the first person to welcome me into my new home. The very first home that was mine since I got clean. Before I had lived in treatment and halfway houses. Man, I was scared. I was so afraid I would mess up now that I was on my own. But she just said welcome, now you’re home. And you CAN do this. She’s been there through thick and thin. Dating, breaking up, being lonely and deciding I’m okay the way I am. She listened to my late night calls when I had bad dreams. She was there for me when I lost my Mom and I was there for her when she lost hers.  I took pictures of her butt so she would know the pants didn’t make her look fat. OK, I’m not certain THAT was the reason, but it’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Friends do that for each other. She was there to gossip with and commiserate with when someone pissed us off. She was the go to person for my son if I wasn’t home. She was my responsible adult on school forms and I was hers.

I remember one time when my kids were off to their other families for a holiday and instead of letting me sit home feeling sorry for myself, she brought me to her house and fed me her Mom’s hot turkey sandwiches while we watched some movies.

I helped her pack her moving truck today and then I left because I didn’t want anyone to see me cry. I’m going to miss her. She won’t be there to let me in when I really need to vent, cry, or just be ridiculously happy and silly.

Good luck in your new adventures. May the Creator keep you well and happy. I’ll be sending up sage smoke for you tonight.

  • I’m so grateful that you were there the first day I got here and every day since. I’m grateful that I was able to learn to be strong in my recovery from you. I’m grateful that I’ve decided I can let you go on your next adventure without me. I guess that means I’m growing up.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

