When “I hate you!” is a good thing

22 Jun

We’re having a bad day today. Actually it started late last night/early this morning.

Remember when I set bedtime for the summer at 10:30? Well, it’s been creeping later and later. He’s inside at 10:30 but not in bed. Or he’s in bed at 10:30 but not asleep. Last night? Last night he finally went to sleep about 4am! And he had turned on his phone because he thought I was asleep and wouldn’t catch him.

Good thing I had to go to the bathroom at o’dark thirty! Caught him red-handed! Told him right then that there would be no electronics all day today,  he’s grounded, and he has to clean his room.

It is now 7:30pm. The room is just now almost finished. He tried to sleep all day. I didn’t let him. He asks if he can go outside now and gets really huffy when I tell him no.

I hear the dreaded, “I hate you!” as he walks back to his room. Me? I feel a little bit of pride because that means I must be doing something right.

I have learned the hard way that I can’t be a parent AND a friend  to my children. I will admit that I am a huge soft touch. It is so hard right now to not let him go outside. But I have always given in before and this is where we sit. He told me that he knew he would be in trouble and lose the phone if he was on it. But he did it anyway because I always gave in before. AND he didn’t think I would keep him inside even after he cleaned his room!

So there he sits saying he hates me and I’m unfair. And here I sit writing all of this down with a little bit of glee because I did the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Even harder than quoting drugs. I SAID NO TO MY CHILD! And I haven’t caved yet. I don’t plan to either. I figure if I can get 8 years clean, I can try to parent my child the way he should be parented. I hope it’s not too late.

  • I’m grateful to stick to it and not cave today. I’m grateful to hear those 3 little words today. I must be doing something right. I’m grateful that I finally put in the paperwork to get rid if my old, broken recliner and couch. Without having a backup set in place yet. I know it’ll work out.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

