Another thought

21 Jun

The other day I was talking to someone who was complaining about the world and our country in particular. They were saying that the reason our country is so messed up is because “gays, Muslims, colored people, Democrats, etc., want to have special privileges.” I was floored! How can wanting to have the SAME rights as middle class, white, Christian people be wanting special privileges?

Someone else earlier this week was complaining about how she felt victimized because she was a white, older woman because a statement said “people in poverty and color are in need of social justice”. She felt left out.

While thinking about this all day I was trying to figure out how I wanted to word this and NOT get beat up. I kept coming back to why does one person need to be better than the other? I know that I have benefits just because of who and where I was born. And yes, sometimes I feel like I’m getting the short end of the stick. But I work really hard to try to see it from every perspective before I complain. And just between you and me, I don’t complain often because I don’t want to make waves or deal with confrontation. But I’m working on it.

I know prejudices are out there. And I’m trying to teach my child that everyone is equal. But I also teach him that sometimes things happen that are unfair. And that we need to continue working on making it fair.

I know I seem to be rambling and I’m imagining all the flack I’m going to get. But I feel that there is a way to work through these issues without hurting each other.

  • Today I’m grateful to get groceries from the church because our cupboards were bare. I’m grateful that I live where I can think how I want. Even if someone else thinks I’m wrong. I’m also grateful that if I think someone else is wrong, I don’t have to believe how they say just because they say I should.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

