Popsicle season

10 Jun

School gets out next week on Friday. They’ve added almost a whole extra week because there were too many snow days this winter. Really annoying going to school halfway through June because it cuts into popsicle season.

During the summer, my son and I love to make our own popsicles. Mainly so we can control how much sugar and other bad stuff is in what we eat. We wait until school is out to keep summer vacation interesting.

Our favorite is to make aqua fresca and then freeze it. You know, put 2 cups of fruit in the blender, add 2 cup of water, and make juice. Then pour it into popsicle molds. He likes watermelon. I like strawberry lime(use a half cup of lime juice in place of some of the water).

Another one we like to do is freeze our homemade “milkshakes” into popsicles. Put a frozen banana, half cup of yogurt, 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, 2 tablespoons of hot cocoa mix, a cup of ice cubes, and enough milk to make it blend. Between a half cup to a full cup, depending on how thick you want it. I use almond milk for mine.

This year I want to try a coconut pineapple one. He wants to figure out how to do a fudgesicle, root beer floatsicle, and a creamsicle. Gotta spend the summer being constructive.

  • I’m grateful for only one more week of school! Have I mentioned that I really don’t like waking him up in the morning? I’m grateful that Popsicle sticks are coming in the mail. 100 for under $5 for food grade sticks is amazing! I’m grateful I get to spend the night watching YouTube for how to Popsicle videos because the Boy is off to his Sissy’s for the night.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

