Grounded

29 May

I always thought that being grounded was the worst thing ever when I was a kid. Being grounded meant not going anywhere or doing anything fun for however long the prescribed time was.

As I look back on it now, being grounded to five acres of land in the middle of nowhere probably wasn’t too bad. So I couldn’t go to any of my friend’s houses. My closest friend lived a couple of miles away. I wasn’t going over much anyway because it was too far away. So I couldn’t watch TV. There were only three channels. And not much worth watching, at least in a kid’s eyes.

I’ve come to realize that grounding my child has a consequence. For me. When he’s grounded, I’m grounded. I think I’m going to need to find something else because as much as I live staying home in my cave, I don’t like it when I can’t leave  if I want to. Now I realize why my mom didn’t ground us that often.

  • I’m grateful to my Mom for putting up with me when I was a hellion. I’m grateful that hindsight is 20/20. I’m grateful I’m still learning about this parenting thing.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

