Memorial Day Weekend

28 May

As I sit here tonight trying to write, many thoughts are running through my mind. It’s really hard to focus on any one thing in particular. I do know we’re staying really close to home this weekend for several reasons.

First of all, it’s Memorial Day. A day where we celebrate the ultimate sacrifice of so many who gave their lives in the pursuit of freedom. I know there are many picnics, BBQs, and stuff going on to say summer is finally here, but I remember going with my parents and grandparents to the cemeteries to decorate the graves of the fallen. So THAT’S what Memorial Day means to me.

It’s really hot for Portland today. It’s almost 90 so the A/C is going and we’re contemplating sleeping downstairs tonight.

I ride public transportation almost exclusively because I don’t have a license to drive. I know that having a car would be easier on my anxiety and peace of mind, but it’s so much cheaper than a car. You can’t own a car for $30 a month! This week has really raised my anxiety about it. Two guys were killed and one was injured by some idiot on a MAX train. The idiot was spouting offensive and abusive language, mostly aimed at two young Muslim women. When some guys stepped in to ask the idiot to take it off the train, he stabbed them, killing them. What is this world coming to when you can be killed for standing up for others?

Carson twisted his ankle last night and is complaining of not being able to walk. I would worry except when he doesn’t see my watching he uses it pretty good. When he realizes I’m watching, he almost falls to the floor saying it hurts too much to walk anymore. It’s really funny.

  • I’m grateful tonight that most of my kids have checked in saying they are okay. Yes, I did tell them they had to after the attack yesterday. I’m grateful to have A/C in my safe, cozy cave where I can lock the doors. I’m grateful to live in a country where all are welcome and 95% have come from somewhere else to make this great big melting pot of a country. It’s sad that a few bad apples can make it seem less welcoming.

Night all. LOVES

 

Leave a Reply

