Hot buttered noodles

26 May

I’m home alone tonight for dinner and I wasn’t in the mood to be extravagant. So I decided to do simple and easy comfort food.

Hot buttered noodles reminds me of being newly married and learning to cook for my husband and I. Honestly, I wasn’t a very good cook when I was first married. Most of what I know now, I’ve learned along the way. It’s really simple and the first time I served it was next to a baked chicken breast. He hated it! It became something I made again and again when I was home alone.

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and add your pasta. Tonight I used egg noodles, but I’ve used angel hair and spaghettini too. You don’t want a heavy pasta. Drain the noodles when al dentĂ© and return to pan. Add a chunk of butter. Maybe a tablespoon or two. Add seasonings of your choice. Pepper, garlic powder, dehydrated onions, some hot pepper flakes, and a touch of sriracha. I used 4 it those packets of Parmesan from Pizza Hut because that’s what I had stashed in a drawer somewhere. Stir well and serve. Tonight I added some chopped broccoli a minute before a drained the noodles.

I don’t know if my ex-husband would still hate my buttered noodles, but I like them.

  • Today I’m grateful to keep trying in the face of adversity. I’m grateful I like simple. I’m grateful to listen to the kids outside playing while eating my dinner.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

