Is there too much of a good thing?

21 May

One of the joys of my special needs children is that he is not responsible enough to be left home alone for an afternoon or so. It makes it difficult to get some things done. It’s complicated by his father’s inability to make his visitations regularly.

I remember weekends where it was a fight to get him to bring our son home on time. Now it’s a hassle to get him to actually follow through and come get him.

Now I know that sounds like a good deal except I usually use those childfree weekends to get meetings in, go to church, and do some self-care. Not to mention the hit to the grocery budget for extra days that he’s home.

I know I shouldn’t complain. And I know that all those times he brought him home late, I was praying for a better solution. But now that a solution has presented itself, I’m not happy.

Does that make me a bad mom that I want a weekend or two a month without my child? Should I quit complaining and just accept the situation? I don’t know. I do know I need to be extra vigilant with my gratitude and saying thanks to ¬†my Heavenly Father for all the things I DO have.

  • I’m grateful to be sitting here next to my child. Especially when there were so many days in early recovery when he wasn’t. I’m grateful that I know situations can change in a heartbeat and to be grateful for what I have. I’m grateful to have the opportunity to figure out new solutions to problems that arise in my life.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

