What may come

17 May

My son has been dealing with bullies at school. It’s gotten bad enough that he’s refusing to go to school. Yes, I KNOW he always argues about going to school,  but this has been different. I found out that last week he actually stood up to one of them in support of a friend. I am so proud of him.

But it also gave me a chance to talk about how we deal with stuff. I explained to him that we can’t control what others do. We can only control how we handle ourselves. We can handle how we react. I got to tell him that no matter what he wanted, he could not control what the bully was going to do. We can’t make others behave the way we want them to.

I told him that standing up for his friend was a very brave thing to do. It takes great courage to take a stand against the crowd. It would have been easy to go along with the crowd or just run away.

Now if only I could find out how the school solved the issue. But it doesn’t affect my child directly so I can’t. Guess I need to practice what I preach.

  • Today I’m grateful my child got up and went to school today. I’m grateful that some of the things I think he’s ignoring are actually getting through. I’m grateful that my child is a great friend.

Night all. LOVES

One Response to “What may come”

  1. idahoredblog May 17, 2017 at 1:01 am #

    That’s a huge improvement towards growth! Way to go Carson for sticking up for a friend. Do it over and over again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

