Oatmeal carrot cake

16 May

Yesterday was Mother’s Day and last week was my birthday so I decided I needed a cake. This is another Whatchagot, make it work recipes.

I started with a yellow cake mix. Added a package of vanilla pudding, a cup of oatmeal, about 2 cups shredded carrots(4 medium sized carrots), 3 eggs, a cube of butter, melted, and 2 cups of water.

I had it in the greased pan before I remembered that I wanted to add some cinnamon and nutmeg to it. So I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top and put it in a 350 degree oven. (it is SOOO annoying that my keyboard doesn’t have a degree symbol!)

I thought it might take up to an hour, but it started smelling good at 35 minutes. Checked it with a wooden skewer, and it came out clean with just a few crumbs.

After I had made it, I felt guilty for making a whole cake, so I decided to share with a couple if the neighbors.

I really didn’t NEED to make a cake. But I’m an emotional eater. I like to bake when I’m stressed. I figure I did okay by sharing.

  • I’m grateful that all the cake is gone. I’m grateful to have not baked today. Even though I really wanted to. Grateful I had strawberries and yogurt instead.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

