May 4th

4 May

Today is Star Wars day. You know, May the Fourth be with you! I did some research about the origins. I think I might have put a whole 5 minutes into it.

I came up with these facts. The first widespread celebrations started in 2011, but as early as 2008, Luke Skywalker day was showing up in Facebook posts, quickly spreading through college campuses. It has become a huge celebration around the world, with Disney hosting several events and festivals during the week.

It also helps me feel empathy  with people born on Christmas, the Fourth of July, Valentine’s Day, or any other holiday. Your birthday becomes second place. It not that big of a deal. See, I was born 51 years ago today. And it’s almost just another day. My boys all told me Happy Birthday this morning. I got a card from my dad and step-mom. And lots of Happy Birthday wishes on Facebook. I even had a friend stop by.

I am wondering if it’s not that big of deal because I’m 51? But I didn’t make a big deal last year either. Maybe because it’s in the middle of the week? It’s probably that I didn’t make a great big fuss about it though. I don’t feel any different than I did yesterday.

  • Today I’m grateful for 51 years alive on this big blue marble. I’m grateful all my kids remembered my birthday. With only a few reminders this past week. I’m grateful for a quiet evening at home. Maybe I’ll get a thunderstorm to watch this afternoon. The weather warnings just went up.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

