Whatchagot goes just okay?

24 Mar

I made Whatchagot stew today in the crock pot for dinner. I’m not satisfied with how it turned out. Sometimes when you cook of the cuff, so to speak, it doesn’t always work. Usually it doesn’t taste really gross. If it does, I won’t eat it. Definitely won’t make my kids eat it. Except the eldest. He’ll eat anything that doesn’t eat him first!

I don’t know why it’s not thrilling me. It just isn’t. It tastes okay. Maybe needs a touch more salt and pepper. But even then, it’s not outstanding. It is warm and fills you up. But I’m definitely hoping the eldest stops by this weekend! If you get my drift!

It’s got the usual suspects in it. Onions, celery, carrots, and potatoes. I added some broccoli and zucchini that were hiding in the bottom of the fridge. And some canned corn, green beans,  and white beans. And a couple if frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Covered it with water and turned the crock pot on and went to my appointment. Came home and turned it down because it was cooking too fast.

Maybe that’s what I did wrong. I started it on high when I should have started it on low to cook all day. Eh, I have no idea. I guess that’s one of the aspects of cooking. Sometimes it turns out great. Sometimes it turns out terrible. And sometimes it’s just okay. That’s today. Just okay.

  • I’m grateful to have something to eat. There are some who don’t. I’m grateful it was a beautiful day today. It was great to hear the neighborhood kids playing in the courtyard. Grateful to know that I’ll continue to try. And to be okay with the fails and the just okays.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

