Biscuit bake

19 Mar

What do you do when you have almost a full container of leftover hamburger gravy sitting in the fridge? You make a casserole. I’m calling it a biscuit bake.

Prepare a 9 x 13 pan. I line mine with aluminum foil and parchment paper  because I have really crappy pans. Then spray well with pan spray. Set off to the side. Turn the oven to 375 F and allow to preheat.

Start by scrambling some eggs. I had 3, so that’s what I used. But you could use more. I cut up about 4 oz of cheddar cheese into tiny cubes and sprinkle over the eggs. Could shred it but we were shredding potatoes at the time. Set aside to cool. They chop up easier that way.

In a medium bowl, place 2 1/2 cups flour, a heaping tablespoon of baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and mix well. Add 3/4 of butter or shortening and mix until crumbly. Add a little bit more than 3/4 cups of milk and mix just until combined. Drop bits of dough, between a walnut and a golf ball size, into the prepared pan. It doesn’t need to be precise. Have you ever known me to be precise? Chop the eggs and melted cheese into little pieces and sprinkle over the biscuit pieces. Spoon the gravy mix over everything and spread it out so everything is covered. I had about 3 cups of gravy. Place pan into over. Bake for 35 minutes or until a biscuit is done when you poke it. A biscuit is done when it’s not doughy in the middle. Let sit for 5 minutes and serve.

We served ours next to hash brown potatoes. We didn’t mix the potatoes into the casserole because we wanted crispy potatoes and didn’t think they would be crispy under the gravy. We are definitely full and happy campers.

  • Today I’m grateful my experiment worked so well. I’m grateful to almost be finished with another book before it expires. 1 of several I checked out from the library online. Gotta go finish it now. I’m grateful for Tylenol because my back is killing me. I understand so well why my mom built he counters so tall in her house!

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

