Happy St. Patrick’s Day

18 Mar

Today is St. Patrick’s Day. It is a day that celebrates the death day of St. Patrick, who is the patron saint of Ireland. He’s supposed to have brought Christianity to Ireland and chased all the snakes off the island. It is celebrated by the Irish and their descendants.

There was a time that the Irish were not welcomed into this country. There were many who felt that rats and snakes had more rights to be American than the Irish did. And then somewhere along the way, somebody figured out that March 17th, was an important day for the Irish. And Irishmen could drink lots. So if we say we’re Irish, we can drink lots too. So everyone wants to be Irish. Especially today! Even if it’s ONLY for today.

I’m Irish. Not just St. Patrick’s Day Irish, but real Irish. My grandmother was a Brennan. And she told me to be proud of my heritage. I’ve tried to I still that in my children. Most of my ancestors were hard-working, generous people. I’m honored to share their heritage.

  • I’m grateful to be Irish. Today and everyday. I’m grateful that I don’t have to drink and make a fool of myself to claim my heritage. I’m grateful that tomorrow I won’t wake up with a hangover. Which is always a great thing!

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

