Buyer beware

9 Mar

This is another rant about poor customer service and truth in advertising. If you want, you can leave now!

Last summer, I was watching something and an advertisement for some DVDs about the Book of Mormon stories from a company called Living Scriptures came on. I thought it would be a good way to help my child learn the Book of Mormon because he doesn’t read very well. So I read all the information available in the website and called and asked even more questions about how the program worked.

I was under the impression that you buy one DVD and if you liked it, you could buy more. And that you could cancel the subscription at anytime.

sub·scrip·tion
səbˈskripSH(ə)n/
noun
  1. 1.
    the action of making or agreeing to make an advance payment in order to receive or participate in something.
    “the newsletter is available only on subscription”

I was under the impression that a subscription is something that has an end. They call it a subscription. It said buy this one, get this free, and continue the subscription with payments every month.

Where I messed up is that I didn’t look for the fine print that tells how to stop the subscription. NOW I KNOW! The is no way to stop the subscription. Because it isn’t a subscription like they say it is. It’s a set that you buy with monthly payments and AFTER every monthly payment  they will send you the next DVD. If you want to stop, please pay the entire purchase price of $1500!

I complained to the company that I feel swindled and I want to send them their DVDs back and they can keep the money I’ve already sent. They don’t want their DVDs back! But they will quit sending me new ones and I can pay a fee to break my contract. A fee of $353.00 to cover the bonus FREE stuff and the balance due on the DVDs they’ve already sent me. But they are willing to work out a payment plan with me.

I feel that this company is taking advantage of people by saying they are affiliated with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in the ads, but they say in the literature they send you that they aren’t, but they work closely with the Church to bring you these products. I know that I will be one careful with my purchases in the future.

  • I’m grateful for this experience because it reminds me to check and double check everything and if it sounds to good to be true, it usually is. Even when it seems to be about something or someone I trust. I’m grateful that although I will be short of funds for a while, I was able to get out of a bad situation. I’m grateful to have a sense of humor to help me get through the trials and tribulations I get myself into.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

