Volunteering

15 Feb

Once a month I volunteer at the Housing Authority here in Portland on their resident advisory committee. We help plan and develop policy for the Board if Commissioners. Tonight was my meeting.

I really like going and learning about what the housing authority actually does and doesn’t do. I didn’t realize they offered as many programs and services that they do.

It’s also interesting to see how different people work together. Or NOT work together. There are those who are loud and demanding. Those who are soft-spoken. And some are all over the place.

Volunteering is good for me. It gives me a chance to give back to the community that has blessed me to be where I am now. The only downside to volunteering is that once you’re in a general group, you usually GET to be in smaller groups. I am now involved with 4 different committees every month. I hope I can keep up or get overwhelmed. There’s lots of reading involved so I should be good as long as I take notes.

  • I’m grateful for the opportunity to learn how government and nonprofit organizations work. I’m grateful to be really tired tonight. I hope I’ll sleep. I’m grateful I got out of my comfort zone to do this.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

