The meeting after the meeting

5 Feb

Tonight I’m late with my daily entry because I just got home from a wonderful evening. One of my best friends took a 10 year coin at a speaker meeting. There were 5 rows of support there for him tonight. Almost a 1/3 of the room! And I was there. Feeling a part of. Yes I was on the fringes, but I talked to people, even a few I didn’t know. THAT is huge for me.

The speaker was from Las Vegas and he was amazing. It almost seemed like he was talking about me most of the time. I guess that’s why they say to look for the similarities and not focus on the differences. What he had to say hit home.

After the meeting, we all went out to eat as a group. There were 20+ by the time we all were seated at the restaurant. And I sat next to my friend but with a stranger on the other. We had met once before but only briefly last fall. We had so many things to talk about. We shared tastes of our different plates and just had a great time. I went outside of my comfort zone and I survived. Even had a good time. I’m so glad I went.

  • Today I’m grateful to have a friend with 10 years clean and sober. And he let’s me hang out with him. I’m grateful to meet a new friend tonight. I’m grateful for fellowship at meetings. Sometimes the meeting after the meeting is as important as the meeting.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

