It’s a good thing? Right?

28 Jan

My 15 year old son left for a weekend trip with his youth group this afternoon. He’ll be gone until Sunday afternoon. This isn’t the first time he’s gone away but it still feels strange to just drop him off and hope he makes it home unscathed. Maybe it’s because he’s the last of the my Mohicans, as I like to call him. He’s my baby. And he’s growing up.

My eldest is almost 30, so that means I’ve been an active mom for 30 years.(gotta count the 9 months before he got here!) I’m wondering what comes after being an active mom. Yes, I know I’ll always be a mom, but when the youngest moves on to whatever he’s got next, I won’t be an ACTIVE parent.

Although, because of his issues, he has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and multiple delays to name a few, he might be in my home longer than most kids. And now I’m wondering if I’m encouraging him to stay where he is and not progress to where he could be? Am I being a bad parent?

I will admit that it’s difficult to write this today because I’m not sure where I want this to go and what in particular I’m trying to get across. I guess that means I need to do some more soul searching and figure it out.

  • Today I’m grateful to have a weekend to myself for some self-care. I’m grateful that he feels comfortable enough to go away for the weekend without family. I’m grateful that I know I need to work on this. Growth is good. For both of us.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

