Sick day

19 Jan

I am still feeling under the weather today. But I’m hoping that my sick day recipes will help me get better quickly.

The first one is a syrup I make that helps sooth my throat and settles my cough.

In a pint jar with a tight fitting lid, layer fresh lemon slices and peeled ginger slices, then cover with local honey. Let sit overnight. To use, shake the jar, put 2-3 tablespoons of the syrup in your chosen vessel. I like it in my water bottle with ice cold water. But some like to cover it with hot water and make a tea. I use it 3-4 times a day. It helps settle your stomach too.

The other recipe I usually make when I’m sick is some sort of chicken and rice meal. There are so many to choose from and I never make it the same way twice. Chicken and rice are easy to digest and if you add vegetables, it’s very nutritious, which you need to get your body well.

Today I used my rice cooker  to steam my chicken and the veggies. I put some frozen chicken thighs in the bottom pan. Added 2 tablespoons each; soy sauce, fish sauce, olive oil, white vinegar and dried minced onions. Then add 4 tablespoons of water. I filled the steamer basket section with frozen stir fry veggies and then stacked it on top. Cover and turn on the cooker. I checked it at 20 minutes. Then served it over instant rice because that’s what I had. It was a really good experiment.

  • I’m grateful today for continued melting outside. I’m grateful my son ate 2 bowls if rice and sauce. But no chicken or veggies. I’m grateful the lemon, ginger, & honey syrup seems to be helping my sore throat.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

