Mom’s spaghetti

13 Jan

One of my aunts is asking for a recipe from all the women in her life. I figured my mother’s spaghetti would be appropriate. Her spaghetti has built fences, mended relationships, reminded me of home and that I was always loved.

In a huge pot, brown 2 pounds of hamburger and drain. Add a large chopped onion, 2-3 bell peppers, and about 10 cloves of minced garlic. Cook until fragrant. Add 2 big cans of whole tomatoes, 2 cans of tomato sauce  and a small can of tomato paste. Add 2 of the sauce cans full of water and a package of spaghetti seasoning. If you have it, add some chopped zucchini and summer squash, black olives that you’ve drained,  and I’ve seen her put finely chopped carrots and some corn in it. Bring to a simmer and let the sauce hang out on low for 20-30 minutes. Or however long it took to get the job done because the spaghetti was feeding the work crew. Serve over hot noodles with a salad and garlic bread. I loved it the next day at breakfast.

This is the closest I’ve gotten to her recipe because she never wrote it down. I’ve stood right next to her helping chop vegetables and stirring the pot, but mine doesn’t ever taste just like hers. But it’s close. I think she put extra love or something in it and never told us what it was.

  • I’m grateful to my mom for teaching me about the joys of hard work. I’m grateful that I didn’t cry much writing this down. I’m grateful to my aunt for her suggestion of a recipe book of your loved ones favorite things to eat.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

