Quietly through the storm

9 Jan

We’re having a freezing rain and ice storm here in Portland Oregon this weekend. It started with snow yesterday and about dusk it started to ice over. I must say the world looks beautiful, but it’s deceptive. It’ll kill you. It’s been on the news that during this latest cold snap, two homeless people have frozen to death. I feel so sad and wish I could take them all in,  but it’s just not possible. And I pray for them.

I woke up this morning to the phone ringing. It was my home teacher from church telling me church was cancelled and asking if I needed anything. My first thought was even if I’m dying, I don’t want to make that kind man go out into the cold and dangerous world for me. Because he would, in a heartbeat. And I pray for him and his family.

I think about the bus drivers and policemen, firemen and EMTs who go out and keep the city safe and moving. And I pray for their safety.

As I’ve sat here all day in my warm and cozy home, I think about those who have nowhere warm to be. I think about all the times I’ve slept in cars, trucks and tents and wishing the heater worked better and know that I’m so very grateful to be here with my child. I’ve listened to the water dripping so the pipes don’t freeze. I’ve listened and watched the rain freezing to the windows. I’ve listened to how quiet the city gets when the world freezes over and I still worry about those who have nowhere else to be but out in it. Whether through their choice or because they have no choice. I have a friend who has been out in this terrible weather driving from Eugene to Tacoma because a loved one is out in this cold and nobody can find her. I pray for them all. And I give thanks for the many blessings which I have.

  • I’m grateful that my children are all indoors and warm today. I’m grateful that it might be warming up. And I’m grateful to have the opportunity to listen to the many sounds of the storm from my warm and cozy home. Please pray for those that don’t.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

