Stuff

6 Jan

Have you ever looked in your cupboards the day before grocery shopping day and tried to figure out what to feed several hungry kids? I came up with Stuff. It’s basically hamburger helper for poor people.

I usually start with the meat of choice. I’ve used ground hamburger, sausage, ground chicken or turkey. I’ve also used meat that I’ve cut into chunks. It doesn’t really matter. I’ve even used vegetarian meats. I use a pound or so. Depends on the amount of mouths crying that they’re starving.

Just brown the meat in a little oil. Add a chopped onion(although I blend mine to get it past the picky eater) and garlic. When browned, add a couple of cans of veggies. I’ve used frozen veggies too.

Depending on how many children you are feeding, ALWAYS COUNT TEENAGERS AS 2, I will measure out my pasta. I figure a cup of dry pasta per child to account for seconds. If ALL the kids are here, especially the eldest, I’ll use a whole pound/package. Most often its macaroni. If you use something else, the water ratio might be a little different. If I’m using egg noodles, I’ll use half a cup less water. You want to add about double the amount of water as the pasta. Then add a can of cream of mushroom soup, undiluted. Add a gravy mix packet, and salt and pepper to taste. Bring it all to a boil, then cover and reduce the heat to low. Simmer for about 20-25 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the pasta is done the way you like it. Some like it mushy, EEWW! Most like it al dente. Give it a final stir and adjust the seasonings. I usually sprinkle cheese on top.

This is what I made tonight for dinner because my eldest and his honey are here. HE counts as 3 teenagers when counting mouths to feed. My ex didn’t really like Stuff but he would eat it if it was what we could afford. I always make sure I keep most of the ingredients in my food storage space.

  • Today  I’m grateful to see my doctor today. Hopefully, I’ll be feeling better soon. I’m grateful for having the ingredients for Stuff in the cupboard so I can feed the kids. I’m grateful to pick up some sparkly water while I was out and about today.

Night all. LOVES

Leave a Reply

