December 13th

13 Dec

Today is my 30th wedding anniversary, if we were still married. But we’re still friends so I think it counts.

I remember when and where we met. It was the afternoon of July 22nd in Antioch California. I was sitting under the flytop by the food trailers waiting to see if I could get a job. This guy walked by and he was so angry you could almost see the smoke steaming from his head like in the cartoons. I told him to ‘Smile, it will make people wonder what you’re up to!’ He just growled and stalked off. I didn’t think I would see him again.

A couple of hours later, there he was again. This time he stopped and said hi. We talked for quite a while. Then he helped me get a job. I still don’t know if I got the job in that particular game because there was an opening or because it was the game closest to his ride. I worked the rest of the week. We spent most of our breaks together. On Sunday after teardown, he asked me to travel with him to the next spot. I said yes!

I was excited and scared all at the same time. Excited to be doing something exciting but scared because my mom was so angry about the whole situation. She told me I couldn’t go. But I told her that I was 20 and she couldn’t stop me and I packed up and left in the middle of the night.

When two people live in the sleeper of a truck day in and day out, you learn about each other real quick. I learned he was a hard worker that could be a jerk at times. He learned that I didn’t like confrontations, books and a willingness to float through life, taking each day as it came. But if I was adamant about something, it was very hard to change my mind. We had some difficulties, but mostly it was great.

We were married December 13th, 1986. We figured at least once in a while, we could celebrate on Friday the 13th. We were married in a small ceremony in his cousins backyard with just family there.

And that’s how it started.

  • Today I’m grateful to still have him in my life through good times and bad. I’m grateful that we had 3 beautiful children together. I’m grateful for all the many things I’ve learned from being with him.

Night all. LOVES

 

One Response to “December 13th”

  1. this little mom December 14, 2016 at 1:39 am #

    Happy Anniversary to the beautiful life you were given, blessed with love and children. I found this truly inspiring. Your positivity speaks loud and clear! Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

