Family

12 Dec

This time of year always makes you think about family. Who’s here and who isn’t. Which ones you talk to and which ones you don’t. Which ones you inherited and which ones you’ve added. But good or bad, it’s all a family.

I have 3 sons. Two of them have given me daughters. The other one better not for a long, long time! We all come from different places and are in different stages in our lives, but with work, we are able to be a family.

Last night my one daughter-in-law was helping me sort some magazines to go to a good home and she came across a packet I had made when I taught primary at church this summer. It was nice to explain the lesson (I STILL REMEMBER IT!) and help her to understand it. We don’t share a religion, but we do share love. It’s nice to be able to talk and understand our differences.

My other daughter-in-law has given me grandchildren. She even lets me offer parenting advice. She doesn’t always take it, but she lets me offer it. That’s huge in my book.

I have accepted these wonderful women into my circle because first, my children loved them. But now because I love them. They each have their strengths and abilities that they bring to this family. And I enjoy being with both.

Because I have children, I also get to deal with the children’s fathers. The older boys’ dad is one of my best friends. That friendship comes from 30 years of dealing with each other. We know each other’s good points and our bad ones. Those bad ones are why we aren’t together any more.

The youngest’s father and I have had a pretty rocky relationship. We haven’t always been friends and sometimes have even been enemies. But with¬†perseverance and understanding we get along mostly okay now.

  • Today, I’m grateful for my family. They bring joy and sorrow but I wouldn’t want it any other way. I’m grateful for my daughter’s that my son’s have given me. They enrich my life in so many ways. I’m grateful to be friends with my ex’s. I wouldn’t have my children without them.

Night all. LOVES

 

Leave a Reply

